This week at church, one of our elders made the comment that "no living breathing organism, like the church, can exist on a plateau for long if at all." Essentially, they are either getting stronger or  weaker.  The wisdom and applicability of his comment struck me: this is not just true for churches.  

I found myself thinking, 'What about my marriage?'

Mitch and I have passed the infamous "two year mark" that so many marriage books highlight. Apparently, after two years of marriage, the newlywed stage has passed and the real struggles emerge. Knowing this, I thought long and hard about our marriage and whether it was growing stronger or quietly weaker.

As I turned this thought over in my head I came to recognize how easy it was to buy into the "plateau misconception." So often we confuse complacency and our comfort level as a plateau in our marriages. We assume everything is fine and we will just keep on like this with no problems. When, in reality, complacency is robbing us from the inside out. Just as there are things such as caffeine that pull calcium out of our bones making them weaker without us even realizing it, so it is with complacency in our marriages. 

So where is your marriage? Are you as a couple, as two becoming one being, growing stronger or weaker?
 



Leave a Reply.