The story of Martha in the New Testament was one of those Bible stories that was covered and recovered in children’s classes. I think it was popular because the moral was always the same—get your priorities right and take time for God. Since I was young, I have pitied Martha for getting it wrong. I understood her perspective--she was a hostess and wanted to serve. To my joy, last week we covered this story in an adult class and I discovered that I was not the only “Martha sympathizer”. The teacher even went as far as to praise Martha’s actions and propose the thought that Jesus was not trying to dishonor her service, but rather make the point that in that moment, Mary had chosen the better option.  

Laying aside the busyness and demands of the day to sit at Jesus’ feet and soak in his presence and teaching.

That was what Mary chose and what Martha gave up. Not being able to see what was most important and really worth her time was Martha’s shortcoming. It is also mine most days.

After a busy week I found myself stressed as I looked around the apartment at all of the chores that needed done: cleaning the bathroom, laundry, mopping, grocery shopping, oh, and more laundry! I had just returned home from a going away party for a coworker, which I got desperately lost trying to find (I drove around for over an hour before I found it), and I had three hours before I needed to be somewhere else. Mitch also had those three hours open before he had to fly off in a different direction. In my accumulated frustrated with our laundry heap, I completely missed his signals to steal a couple hours reconnecting. As we were preparing to conquer yet another fun, but busy evening, he expressed that he had hoped we could have spent the afternoon together since this week we had not been able to allocate much “us” time.

In that moment, I felt much like what Martha must have felt like when Jesus replied to her stressed pleadings. I was overwhelmed by the demands of the day so much so that I let something infinitely valuable slip through my grasp. If I could, I would go back and take that chance to connect with Mitch; just as I suppose Martha would go back and take that chance to sit at Jesus’ feet and learn. This week I pray that I learn from my mistakes.

Questions for thought:

1.      What are you overlooking due to busyness that may be more worthy of your time?
2.      Do you relate to Martha? If so, how?




Leave a Reply.